July 2005

Nepal Mountaineering Association


Advisory Committee- 17 July 2005

The NMA has nominated Dr. Harka Gurung as Chief Advisor, while Rt. Hon'ble Lama Pasang Sherpa, Hon'ble Ms. Yankila Sherpa, Dr. Soorya Lal Amatya, Mr. J.B. Singh, Mr. Buddhi Narayan Shrestha and Mr. Apa Sherpa have been nominated as members of the Advisory Committee of NMA. First Secretariate Meeting- 31 July 2005

The first Secretariat Meeting of the newly elected Executive Board Member was held on 24 July at NMA Secretriate, Nagpokhari, Naxal. The secretariate comprises seven members: Mr. Deebas Birkam Shah, General Secretary, Mr. Narhari Bhandari Secretary, Mr. Ang Kaji Sherpa Treasurer, Executive Board Members Mr. Ang J.P. Lama, Mr. Narayan Sunder Shrestha, Mr. R.P. Pant and Mr. Santa Bir Lama.

NMA- Secretariat renovated- 24 July 2005

The NMA office at Nagpokhari was renovated recently. The newly renovated office now include parking space on NMA premises, a green garden, four clean toilets, guest room, counters at the accounts section, and a reception and information centre about NMA peaks and NMA activities. The renovation was completed on 27 November 2005.

Nomination- 24 July 2005

Mr. Narhari Bhandari, Secretary of NMA has been nominated as Ex-officio Member representing NMA in the Executive Committee of HRA as per the decision of the Central Secretariat meeting held on 24 July 2005. Similarly, Mr. Deepak Poudel, Executive Board Member has been nominated to represent NMA in the Tourism Sports Development & Promotion Committee formed under the National Sports Council as per the decision of Central Secretariat meeting held on 24 July 2005.

Press Release- 25 July 2005

NMA released a press statement at the Reporter's Club, Putali Sadak, Kathmandu, on 25 July 2005 to clarify some of the outstanding issues regarding the Election of the Central Executive Committee, General Membership, Audit Report and the Statute of NMA.