May 2010

Nepal Mountaineering Association


Mt. Dhaulagiri Golden Jubilee celebrated- 13 May 2010

In the history of golden jubilee of all the peaks above 8000m, Mt. Dhaulagiri Golden Jubilee is celebrated outside the capital in Pokhara. The morning procession participated by school students, Nepal Scouts, Nepal Army Band, Police Band, Pokhara Sub-Metropolitan City and various associations-Pokhara Tourism Council, TAAN, NATTA, NARA, HAN, NATO, HRA, REBAN, UNITRAV, NTB, Nepal Chamber of Commerce, FNCCI, Climbers Club, Rolwaling Club, NMIA, NNMGA, EOA, ESA, NWMA, Tamu Samaj, Langhali Samaj, Thakali Samaj etc. & Dhaulagiri Summiteers started from Hallanchowk, Lakeside to International Mountain Museum (IMM) amidst traditional music and cultural displays. In IMM premises, Pokhara Sub- Metropolitan City felicitated Dhaulagiri summiteers.

In the afternoon program, NMA President Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa welcomed all the guests present in the program. In his welcome speech, Mr. Sherpa expressed his happiness for the presence of Kurt Diemberger, the only person alive to have made the first successful ascent of Mt. Dhaulagiri and Mt. Broad peak and seven Dhaulagiri summiteer Mr. Ang Rita Sherpa. He also thanked Government of Nepal for reducing 50% in the royalty fee of Mt. Dhaulagiri for two years. The chief guest for the program, Hon'ble Minister for Tourism & Civil Aviation Sharat Singh Bhandari put on cancellation mark on the commemorative cover released on the occasion of Mt. Dhaulagiri Golden Jubilee Celebration. The first Dhaulagiri climber, Kurt Diemberger recalled some of his memories from the first ever successful expedition. He mentioned about mountaineering equipments used in the expedition, how he collected fund for the expedition and challenges he faced during mountaineering.

Hon'ble Minister expressed his thankfulness for the presence of great Dhaulagiri summiteers- Mr. Kurt Diemberger and Mr. Ang Rita Sherpa in the program. He also expressed his happiness for the celebration program went well.

Finally, Officiating Secretary of Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation, Mr. Ranjan Krishna Aryal appreciated the initiative of Nepal Mountaineering Association in marking Mt. Dhulagiri Golden Jubilee Celebration. He also thanked all the associations for their direct or indirect involvement in the program.

Mt. Dhaulagiri Golden Jubilee Celebration

Decision on waiver- 12 May

The Government of Nepal, as per the proposal presented by the Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation, has decided to provide visa free of charge to the successful Mt. Everest and Mt. Dhaulagiri summiteers for the remaining period of 2010 and 2011. Similarly, for the same period 50% of the royalty for climbing Mt. Dhaulagiri has been waived.

Pushkar ascended Everest- 17 May

After cycling world tour for 11 years, cyclist Mr. Pushkar Shah scaled Mt. Everest on 17 May.

Apa Sherpa declared Goodwill Ambassador- 19 May

The 16th conference of South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) held in Bhutan from 28-29 April 2010 nominated Mr. Apa Sherpa (world record holder to summit Mt. Everest for 20 time) as SAARC Goodwill Ambassador for Climate Change for two years.

Apa Sherpa climbed Everest again- 23 May

Famous climber and advisor to NMA Mr. Apa Sherpa broke his own record by scaling Everest for 20th time with a message of climate change.

3rd Int'l Everest Day celebrated- 31 May 2010

A 3rd Int'l Everest Day with a slogan of Int'l Summiteers Summit to Save Himalayas was organized on 29 May by organizing various programs. A morning procession started from Nepal Tourism Board with participants from different tourism related organizations and ended at Thamel. 20 times Everest Summiteer Mr. Apa Sherpa, Mr. A C Sherpa- world record holder on summiting highest seven peaks of seven continents in 50 days, Simone More and other Everest summiteers also participated in the morning rally.

On the occasion of Everest day, summiteers gathered at the felicitation program organized at Hotel Hyatt. Hon'ble Minister for Tourism & Civil Aviation Sharat Singh Bhandari felicitated the summiteers with letter of appreciation and medals present on the program. The ministry also awarded Ms. Junko Tabei (first woman Everest summiteers) with Tenzing Hillary Award for her contribution in the field of mountaineering tourism. Minister Bhandari also unveiled the official magazine of Nepal Mountaineering Association, Nepal Parbat. Some Everest summiteers were also declared as Goodwill Ambassadors of Nepal.

In the program, Mr. Apa Sherpa- world record holder to summit Mt. Everest for 20th time expressed that he started climbing as his profession, but now since some years, he has been climbing Everest with message of global warming and its impact on our Himalaya region. Hon'ble Minister thanked all the summiteers for their presence at the program and requested Goodwill Ambassadors to spread the message of mountain tourism of Nepal.

President of UIAA- MPC, Advisor IUCN and mountaineer Linda McMillan presented paper on Save the Himalayas- UIAA perspective. Famous Indian mountain Captain M S Kohli moderated the paper presentation program where as L. Jirasko, President, International Alpinism Festival and Major HP Ahuliwalia was panelists.

3rd International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day

NMA's election declared- 30 May

The election of Executive Board Committee was declared to be held on 15 and 16 June 2010. The venue for the election is Nepal Academy and Mr. Yubraj Bhandari is nominated as Election Commissioner for the election. The other members of election commission are Mr. Major Thapa and Mr. Indra Bahadur Adhikari. Detail Program of election