November 2010

Nepal Mountaineering Association


NMA Day Celebrated - 1 November

37th NMA Anniversary was celebrated on 1 Nov 2010 with various programs. The chief guest for the program was State Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation Shatrughan Prasad Singh. After welcoming all the guests by General Secretary Mr. Deebas Bikram Shah, the chief guest hoisted the flag of NMA in the premises. NMA President Mr. Zimba Zangbu Sherpa highlighted the activities of NMA and announced the recipients of NMA Awards of 2009 given annually on the occasion of NMA day.

Dr. Harka Mountaineering Award -

Mr. Prateek Dhakal
Ms. Natasha Shrestha

Kumar Khadga Bikram Adventurous Award -

Nepal Mountaineering Instructors' Association
Mr. Lakpa Gyalzen Sharpa

Dawa Norbu Mountaineering Tourism Journalism Award -

M/s Sunrise Nepal
M/s Gantabya Nepal
M/s Image Digest

The recipient of the award was nominated by Prize Selection Committee headed by Hon'ble Member of National Planning Commission Dr. Ganesh Gurung.

Hon'ble State Minister handed over all NMA awards and certificates to the participants of Basic Mountaineering Course 2010. The award winners thanked NMA for its effort of admiring persons and institutions actively involved in the promotion of mountaineering tourism. They assured for their continuous engagement in the mountaineering sector in the coming days.

In the speech of Hon'ble State Minister, he mentioned his satisfaction over the activities of NMA conducted for the protection of mountaineering environment for the promotion of mountaineering tourism. Finally, NMA President thanked all the guests for their presence in the program. He also shade light on environment, local development activities of NMA. He informed that up to now 1603 human resources have been trained under various training categories.

At the end of program, the guests departed for International Mountaineers' Memorial Park, Kakani (IMMP) to unveil the memorial pillar constructed in the memory of Everest summiteer late Phu Dorjee Sherpa. He was first the Nepali who climbed Everest with Nepali nationality and did not change his nationality, therefore, he is considered as the First Nepali Everest Summiteer. Hon'ble State Minister unveiled the memorial pillar at IMMP. In the program, daughter of late Sherpa, Ms. Da Phuti Sherpa recalled some of his memories and good old hard times of mountaineering in Nepal. NMA President highlighted on the ongoing construction activities at IMMP and mentioned that some the master plan will continue as per the program.

UAAA General Assembly in Nepal- 8 Nov

NMA President Mr. Zimba Zangbu Sherpa and General Secretary Mr. Deebas Bikram Shah have returned to Nepal after participating in General Assembly of Union of Asian Alpine Association (UAAA) held in China from 5-7 Nov 2010. All the member federations presented their reports on their annual activities in the assembly. On behalf of NMA, Mr. President presented the report on the activities conducted by NMA during the last year. The meeting also discussed on activities related with Expedition, Environment and Youth of different UAAA committees. The meeting also approved to hold General Assembly of 2011 in Nepal on 9 Oct 2011 coinciding with Nepal Tourism Year 2011.

Meeting with Korea Nepal Friendship Association- 15 Nov

NMA President and Executive Members of NMA attended the dinner program organized by Korea Nepal Friendship Association on 15 Nov in honor of In Jeong Lee, President of Union of Asian Alpine Association (UAAA).

Advance Mountaineering Training- 22 Nov

NMA has re-scheduled of Advance Mountaineering Training at Kathmandu and Manang as 23 Dec 2010- 31 January 2011.

Donation for toilet and porter shed construction- 3 Nov

As part of NMA's regular annual program- local development program, NMA has decided to donate Rs. 26,59,000/- from Local Development Fund to Sagarmatha Pollution Control Committee (SPCC) for the construction of two toilets and one porter shed at the base camp of Island peak and cleaning campaign on Island and Pharcharmo peak. In the initial phase of the program, NMA has allocated Rs. 15,00,000/- for the construction of two toilets and one porter shed at the base camps of Island camp.

Request for additional peaks- 10 Nov

As per NMA Central Secretariat Meeting of 14 Nov, NMA has requested Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation (MoTCA) for additional 23 peaks for NMA in order to promote them as additional tourism products of Nepal for Nepal Tourism Year 2011.

Committee formed- 14 Nov

Employee Performance Committee was formed under the convernorship of General Secretary
Mr. Deebas Bikram Shah with following members.

  • Mr. Baburam Bhandari- Representative, Ministry of Tourism & Civil Aviation
  • Mr. Basanta Bahadur Basnet- Legal Consultant
  • Mr. Jinesh Sindurakar- Act. Chief Administrative Officer
  • Ms. Radhika Shyangwa- Chief Account Officer

This committee will formulate guidelines and criteria, which will be followed to evaluate the performance of the staff.

Rekei of Manang Mountaineering School-21 Nov

NMA General Secretary led the team of four members to rekei Manang Mountaineering School. Executive Member Mr. Lhakpa Norbu Sherpa, Engineer Mr. Gyan Bahadur Sherpa and Mr. Triple Gurung, President, Team Entrepreneurs Association of Nepal (TEAM) are the members of the team. The mountaineering trainings of NMA used to be conducted at the school, which was built with the financial assistance of Alpine Club of Slovenia (PZS) in 1979. The rekei team will prepare detail estimate with design to re-operate all the trainings as per the current requirement.

Scholarship provided- 28 Nov

NMA Central Secretariat has decided to provide educational scholarship of Rs. 1500 per month to Ms. Diki Doka Sherpa (D/o of late Lhakpa Nuru Sherpa) and Mr. Dawa Gyalzen Sherpa (D/o of late Pasang Gelu Sherpa).

Permit checker in Rolwaling- 28 Nov

NMA Central Secretariat appointed Mt. Everest Summiteers' Club, Rolwaling to check peak permit issued by NMA for three peaks (Mt. Ramdung, Mt. Pharcharmo and Mt. Chekigo) located in Rolwaling region with effect from 15 December 2010 to 15 June 2011 for six months.

Fake representative in Mera region- 28 Nov

NMA was being informed that some unauthorized representatives have been collecting money without any authorized letter of NMA, therefore it is the information for all the concerned that NMA has not appointed any representative in Mera region to check permit issued by NMA for Mera peak.

Kathmandu International Mountain Film Festival- 28 Nov

NMA decided to award the first prize money of US $ 1500 for Kathmandu International Mountain Festival 2010 to be held from 9-13 Dec 2010. There are 36 films in the international non-competitive section, 20 in the international competitive section, and 6 in Nepali Panorama section. The top three winners in International competitive category will receive cash awards of ,500, ,000, and 0 respectively. NMA also decided to display mountaineering equipments and other mountain related goods in the film festival.

General Assembly of NMA Annapurna Chapter- 30 Nov

NMA Ist Vice President Mr. Nima Nuru Sherpa, Secretary Mr. Diwas Pokhrel, International Mountain Museum Committee Members Mr. Ang Phurba Sherpa and Mr. B N Dhakal participated in the Annual General Assembly of NMA Annapurna Chapter on 30 Nov. The meeting also elected Executive Board at Annapurna led by Mr. Khadga Bahadur Ranabhat- President. The other members are- Ms. Lucky Karki Chhetri- Vice President, Mr. Jeevan Raj Sapkota- Secretary and Mr. Krishna Prasad Kafle- Treasurer.

Annual General Meeting of NMA, Annapurna Chapter