December 2012

Nepal Mountaineering Association


Everest Diamond Jubilee Celebration - 10 Dec

Ministry of Culture, Tourism & Civil Aviation has decided to celebrate Everest Diamond Jubilee Celebration on the occasion of the completion of 60 years of first ascent of Mt. Everest.

Kathmandu International Mountain Film Festival- 11 Dec

NMA sponsored the first prize of US$ 1500 for the best documentary screened during 10th Kathmandu International Mountain Film Festival held in Kathmandu from 7 - 11 Dec 2012.

Felicitation for Junko Tabei- 13 Dec 2012

NMA organized felicitation program in honor of First Everest summiteer Jubko Tabei on 13 Dec 2012.

Maurice Herzog, 93, Dies- 13 Dec 2012

Maurice Herzog, a French alpinist who became the first men to conquer a peak above 8000m i.e. Annapurna I died on 13 Dec 2012, Thursday in Neuilly-sur-Seine, near Paris aged 93. Nepal Mountaineering Association expresses its deepest condolence to the bereaved family and prays for his soul to be rested in peace.

Ist IFSC NMA National Open Sports Climbing Competition- 25 Dec

NMA organized Ist IFSC NMA National Open Sports Climbing Competition at Himalayan Adventure Training Canter, Balaju on 25 & 25 Dec 2012. Yajna Prasad Gautam, Secretary for Culture, Tourism & Civil Aviation and NMA President Zimba Zangbu Sherpa gave away awards and letter of appreciation to the following successful participants of the competition. The climbing competition was considered the first competition organized under the rules and regulations prescribed by International Federation of Sports Climbing (IFSC). NMA received 40 registration forms for the competition. Photo ( )

Men lead final

  • Niraj Karki - Ist
  • Hareram Khadka - IInd
  • Lakpa Sherpa - IIIrd
  • Vinayak Jaya Malla - IVth
  • Chhiring Sherpa - Vth
  • Dhurba Bista - VIth

Women lead final

  • Ms. Dawa Yangzum Sherpa - Ist
  • Ms. Asha Singh - IInd
  • Ms. Sita Thapa - IIIrd
  • Ms. Nimdoma Sherpa - IVth
  • Ms. Jamuna Thapa Magar - Vth
  • Ms. Shamjhana Bishankhe - VIth

Men speed final

  • Dhurba Bista - Ist
  • Narendra Shahi - IInd
  • Riten Jangu Sherpa - IIIrd
  • Vinayak Jaya Malla - IVth
  • Chhiring Sherpa - Vth
  • Hareram Khadka - VIth

Women speed final

  • Ms. Asha Singh - Ist
  • Ms. Nimdoma Sherpa - IInd
  • Ms. Sita Thapa - IIIrd
  • Ms. Dawa Yangzum Sherpa - IVth
  • Ms. Shamjhana Bishankhe - Vth
  • Ms. Sushma Thapa - VIth