September 2012

Nepal Mountaineering Association


23rd Annual General Meeting (AGM) - 16 Sep 2012

The 23rd Annual General Meeting (AGM) of Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) concluded on 16 Sep 2012 at Hotel Yak & Yeti, Kathmandu. Hon'ble Minister for Culture, Tourism & Civil Aviation Posta Bahadur Bogati was the chief guest of the program. Secretary for Ministry of Culture, Tourism & Civil Aviation Yajna Prasad Gautam, advisors of NMA, representatives of tourism related organizations, general members, government officials were also present in the program. The program observed one-minute silence in memory of the demise of known and unknown mountaineers. After the welcome speech by Nima Nuru Sherpa, Ist VP, the chief guest inaugurated the program by watering on the plants.

Inauguration of Annual General Meeting 2012

NMA Awards:

The chief guest distributed three NMA awards- Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award -2011, Kumar Khadga Bickram Adventurous Award - 2011 and Dawa Norbu Mountaineering Tourism Journalism Award 2011 in the program.

Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award -2011 was awarded posthumously to Late Jean Coudrey for his utmost contribution in mountaineering training conducted by Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA). The level of NMA trainings that attained today is the result of his sincere and appreciative effort. He had played commendable role in providing opportunity to Nepalese mountaineers in the Nepalese Himalayas and for his support for the mountain guide course in ENSA.

Kumar Khadga Bickram Adventurous Award - 2011 was jointly awarded to US Mr. Gullermo Benegas (Willie) and Damien Benegas, for their active involvement in adventurous assistance in rescue activity for the prevention of human loss in mountaineering areas.

Dawa Norbu Mountaineering Tourism Journalism Award 2011 was awarded to Raju Silwal, Nepal Television for his active involvement in disseminating news about the activities of Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) focused on mountain tourism, mountain environment conservation and alpine training.

Dawa Steven honored:

Central Executive Member Dawa Steven Sherpa was honored for receiving international prestigious award WWF International President's Award for his appreciative contribution to nature conservation around the world through awareness programs about the impacts of climate change in the Himalayas.

Top ten trekking agencies felicitated:

The chief guest felicitated the following top ten associate members (trekking agencies) for issuing the highest number of climbing permits for NMA peaks.

Thamserku Trekking (36)
Summit Nepal Trekking (34)
Himalayan guides Nepal Trekking & Expedition (31)
Himalayan Ecstasy Pvt. Ltd (23)
Adventure Geo Treks (P) Ltd. (21)
Cosmo Trek (21)
Himalayan Glacier Trekking Pvt. Ltd. (20)
Multi Adventure (20)
Royal High Mountain Trek Nepal (P) Ltd. (20)
Himalaya Expedition Inc (19)

Felicitation of Associate Members

On the same program, the Peak Profile containing all the vital information about NMA peaks was also released. Similarly, the newly uploaded site of International Mountain Museum was also inaugurated. The chief guest also distributed completion certificates to the trainees and letter of appreciation to the instructors of Basic Mountaineering Course 2012.

The first session of AGM concluded with the remarks from Hon'ble Minister Posta Bahadur Bogati, Tourism Secretary Yajna Prasad Gautam and vote of thanks by NMA President Zimba Zangbu Sherpa.

IInd session

In the second session of the meeting, General Secretary Deebas Bikram Shah and Treasurer Asha Gurung presented the progress report, financial statement of the fiscal year 2068/2069 and annual program with budget for the fiscal year 2069/2070. The general members deeply discussed in the presented programs and budget and questioned General Secretary, Treasurer on some matters related with the budget. After thorough discussion, the general meeting endorsed all the plan-programs and budget. Finally, IInd Vice President Mr. Santa Bir Lama thanked all the general members for their presence and assistance in approving the programs for the fiscal year 2069-2070.

IInd session

World Tourism Day Celebrated- 27 Sep

33rd World Tourism Day was observed organizing various tourism promotional programmes with the theme "Tourism and Energy for Sustainable Development" across the country on Thursday. Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation (MoTCA) and Nepal Tourism Board (NTB) along with other tourism related associations marked the World Tourism Day organizing programmes including cultural shows and rallies in the capital. On the occasion, NTB along with other tourism associations also organized rally starting from Sanchaikosh Building, Thamel to Basantapur in the morning. Inaugurating the tourism promotional rally, Tourism Minister Post Bahadur Bogati said that this kind of programmes would boost tourism industry in the international arena. Bogati also urged all to unite together along with government, private and public sector to promote tourism sector. Nepal has been celebrating World Tourism Day since 1980 in September 27.

Free entry to International Mountain Museum- 27 Sep

NMA granted complimentary to all the national and international guests at International Mountain Museum (IMM) on the occasion of World Tourism Day 27 Sep.

UIAA General Assembly & UAAA General Assembly - 30 Sep

The General Assembly of Union of International Alpine Association is scheduled to be held in Netherlands from 10-13 Oct 2012. NMA President will lead the participating team of NMA for the assembly with the following members.

Mr. Mohan Krishna Sapkota, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Culture, Tourism & Civil Aviation
Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa, Immediate Past President
Mr. Santa Bir Lama, IInd Vice President
Mr. Deebas Bikram Shah, General Secretary
The general assembly is be hosted by Dutch Mountaineering and Climbing Federation (NKBV).

Similarly, General Assembly of Union of Asian Alpine Association (UAAA) is also going to be held in South Korea from 18- 19 Oct 2012. NMA President will lead the participating team of NMA for the assembly with the following members.

Mr. Surendra Sapkota, Under Secretary, Ministry of Culture Tourism and Civil Aviation
Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa, Immediate Past President
Mr. Santa Bir Lama, IInd Vice President
Mr. Deebas Bikram Shah, General Secretary
Korean Alpine Federation is organizing the assembly meeting.