February 2014

Nepal Mountaineering Association


11th IMM Day Celebrated- 5 Feb
International Mountain Museum (IMM) in Pokhara completed 10 years of the successful operation on 5 Feb 2014. The museum was officially opened on 5 Feb 2004. On the occasion of its 10th Anniversary, celebration program with the slogan of "Museum Collections make connection" was organized in IMM premises on that day. Honorable Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Ram Kumar Shrestha was the chief guest for the program, which started with the welcome speech by NMA General Secretary Deebas Bikram Shah. The chief guest inaugurated the program by lighting panas. The program was chaired by NMA President Zimba Zangbu Sherpa and Convener of IMM Committee, Mr Nima Nuru Sherpa read out the progress report of the last fiscal year. Chief of the Tourism Industries Division Mudu Sudhan Burlakoti was also present in the program. Representatives of different tourism organizations, government officials were present in the program.

The program was also followed by the 4 th Convention of NMA Annapurna Chapter. The convention also elected new executive board of the chapter for three years led by Jeevan Sapkota as President.

Former UIAA President Ian McNaught-Davis dies - 11 Feb
Former President of UIAA Ian McNaught died at the age of 84 on 10 Feb 2014. He was President of UIAA from 1995-2004 and currently he is the Patron of British Mountaineering Council. Please visit for news on http://www.theuiaa.org/news-76-BMC-Patron-and-former-UIAA-President-Ian-McNaught-Davis-dies.html

Ian McNaught Davis

Reduction in mountaineering royalty- 12 Feb
The ministerial level decision taken on 2070/2/30 formed a committee headed by Chief, Tourism Industries Division, Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation to recommend on the revision of mountaineering royalty and adoption of necessary measures to make Nepal's mountain tourism. The committee submitted its report to the government in last November with suggestion to revise the expedition royalty fee for Mt Everest and other peaks. The revised royalty fee was published in the Nepal Gazette on Wednesday. Click here for press release

NMA election - 21 Feb
The election of Central Executive Board of NMA was held on 21 and 22 Feb at Nepal Academy Hall, Kamaladi. NMA legal advisor Mr. Basant Bahadur Basnet was nominated as Election Commissioner for the election. The other members of election commission were Mr. Bhisma Kadariya and Mr. Somnath Sapkota.

The Central Executive Board Committee of NMA has 25 members. It has President, 2 Vice Presidents, General Secretary, Secretary, Treasurer and 9 Members and its election was held on 21 Feb. Likewise, election for 1 institutional member and 4 book holders and mountaineers registered at NMA was held on 22 Feb. 2 members and 1 mountaineer are nominated by President and Immediate Past President, 1 Representative of Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation are ex-officio members of the executive board.

As part of election procedure, Election Commission published the name list of candidates registered on 18 Feb. Among 1162 general members, 906 cast their vote in the election of executive board members held on 21 Feb. Similarly, among 1220 book holders registered at NMA, 303 book holders participated in the election procedure. In institutional members, Pasang Tenzing Sherpa representing Mt. Everest Summiteers' Club, Rolwaling registered his candidacy at NMA and other 16 institution members did not register their candidacy, hence, he was declared elected. All the name list of voters' list was published on 14 Feb.

Following is the newly elected Central Executive Board led by Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa, who is also the honorary member of Union of International Alpine Association (UIAA).

President - Ang Tshering Sherpa

1st Vice President - Santa Bir Lama

2nd Vice President - Deebas Bickram Shah

General Secretary - Thakur Raj Pandey

Secretary - Rajendra Man Shrestha

Treasurer - Tika Ram Gurung

1. Dr. Hari Prasad Shrestha 2. Dr. Nima Namgyal Sherpa 3. Dhan Bahadur Gurung 4. Chhurim Sherpa 5. Pasang Sherpa 6. Lakpa Sherpa 7. Da Gelje Sherpa 8. Pemba Dorji Sherpa 9. Kamini Lambi Lama (Sherpa)

Padam Ghale, Mingma Sherpa, Dorje Khatri and Pasang Bhote were elected on the election conducted on 22 Feb for mountaineers registered at NMA. Likewise, Mr. Pasang Tenzing Sherpa representing Mt. Everest Summiteers's Club, Rolwaling was elected from the institution quota.

Oath taking and installation ceremony- 28 February
The newly elected central executive board administered oath in the special program on 28 February in the presence of newly appointed Hon'ble Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Bhim Prasad Acharya. On the same occasion, Hon'ble Minister was also given warm welcome for his appointment as the minister. Outgoing President Zimba Zangbu Sherpa started the program with his welcome speech on brief explanation of the activities carried out during his tenure as President at NMA. Election Commissioner Basant Bahadur Basnet conducted oath taking process and distributed certificates to all the elected board members. In the speech delivered by Hon'ble Minister, he mentioned about his commitment to extend support to the newly executive board for the development of mountain tourism in Nepal. He also expressed his willingness to cooperate in opening new peaks and to work jointly with NMA for the development of nation through mountain tourism. Finally, newly elected President Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa stated his commitment that he would try his best to fulfill the commitment that was expressed during the election campaign and also extended his request to all the well-wishers for the support for the promotion of mountain and mountaineering. Advisor of NMA and Ex-Tourism minister Ms. Yangkila Sherpa, President of Trekking Agencies Association of Nepal (TAAN) Ramesh Dhamala, representatives of different organizations, high government officials, journalists were also present in the program.

Oath taking and installation ceremony