February 2015

Nepal Mountaineering Association


IMM Day Celebration – Feb 5, 2015
The 12th anniversary of International Mountain Museum was celebrated on 5th Feb at IMM premises with the slogan of "Museum for a sustainable society". Director General of Department of Tourism Tulasi Prasad Gautam was the chief guest of the program. After hoisting of the flags of NMA, UIAA and UAAA, Mr. Santa Bir Lama, I Vice President and Convener, IMM Committee presented the progress reports of IMM in the official program conducted in the conference hall of IMM.

Click here to view photos of 12th IMM Day

Call for Design Competition – Feb 10, 2015
NMA in technical cooperation with Society of Nepalese Architect (SONA) called for the design competition for the proposed Central Secretariat building. The deadline or the submission of design is fixed as 8th March 2015, before 5.00pm.

Joint meeting regarding safety of the trekkers in Nepal and to develop skilled manpower:

In presence of Secretary of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Ministry Mr. Suresh Man Shrestha, Executive Director of NATHM Mr. Chuda Mani Sharma Kattel, President of TAAN Mr Ramesh Dhamala, Chief of UIAA training Commission Mr. Steve Long and Executive board members of Nepal Mountaineering Association, the joint meeting regarding safety of the trekkers in Nepal and to develop skilled manpower to make the trekking safe was held at NMA secretariat on 9th February 2015.

TAAN Loshar Celebration- Feb 17, 2015
NMA participated in the procession to mark Loshar organized by Trekking Agencies Association of Nepal (TAAN) on 17 February 2015, Tuesday at Thamel.

Liaison Officer Recommended
The joint meeting of Nepal Mountaineering Association, Everest Summiteers Association, Nepal National Mountain Guide Association and Nepal Mountaineering Instructor Association recommended the following Everest summiteers for liaison officers having the criteria set by Ministry of culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation. All the names have been endorsed by NMA and forwarded to Department of Tourism for the necessary procedure.
1. Mr. Ang Geljen Sherpa
2. Mr. Ridar Lohmi Sherpa
3. Mr. Pasang Nima Sherpa
4. Mr. Pemba Sherpa
5. Mr. Madan Kumar Chudal