Nepal Mountaineering Association successfully concludes its 31st & 32nd AGA
August 14, 2022

Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) today successfully concluded its 31st & 32nd Annual General Assembly (AGA). 


The AGM unanimously passed the policy and program of the fiscal year 2077/078 and 2078/079. On the close session of the AGA, General Secretary Mr. Mohan Lamsal presented the policy and progress report of the fiscal year 2077/078 and 2078/079 where as Treasurer Mr. Mukti Pandey Presented the budget for the fiscal year of 2078/079.


All the members debated on reports of both fiscal years presented by General Secretary and Treasurer. They also suggested some corrections on the policy and programs of both years.


However, the reports of both the fiscal years were approved with minor corrections. 


Earlier in the day, honorable minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Mr. Jeevan Ram Shrestha inaugurated the opening session of the AGA. 

Minister Shrestha said that the new peaks will be open soon for the climbing activities. ‘‘I have already instructed the officials to assess the report submitted by Nepal Mountaineering Association. We should open all the peaks for the promotion of mountaineering activity in Nepal,’’ Minister Shrestha said. He also stressed the importance of allowing Nepal’s peaks for adventurous sports. 


The government has opened only 414 peaks for climbing activity in Nepal. But various reports have suggested that Nepal has more than 1310 peaks that can allure the tourists from across the globe. 


NMA, on the occasion of its 31st and 32nd AGA, also distributed various awards established in the name of its founders, conferred record holder climbers, top-10 agencies of fiscal year 2077/078 & 2078/079 who contributed the most in terms of revenue and its former and present staffs.


NMA honored Journalists duo Mr. Sudeep Biswakarma and Mr. Kumar Prasad Chaulagain with Dawa Norbu Sherpa Journalism Award. Presenter of Moonlight Television Mr. Chaulagain and editor of the Diyopost Mr. Biswakarma received 25K each. 


Mr. Mingma Gelu Sherpa was honored with Late Kumar Khadga Bikram Shah Award and Mr. Ngag Geljen Sherpa with Late Dr. Harka Gurung Award. Mr. Mingma was chosen for the Award for his contribution to the mountain tourism of Nepal and Mr. Ngag was chosen for the award for his effort for providing medical support for the people of mountain. 


NMA also honored dozens of climbers for their achievements on the top of the various mountains. 


Mr. Kami Rita Sherpa was honored with a letter of appreciation for his record of most successful ascent of Mt. Everest. He had broken his own record to be the world’s first and only men to successfully ascend Mt. Everest. 


Mr. Sanu Sherpa was also honored with a letter of appreciation for his record of summiting all the 14 eight thousanders of the world twice.  Mr. Tshering Sherpa was honored for climbing Mt. K2, the 2nd tallest mountain in the world after Mt. Everest fasted and Ms. Dawa Yangzum Sherpa for being the first Nepali woman to scale Broad Peak of Pakistan.


Ms. Pasang Lhamu Sherpa Akita was honored with a letter of appreciation for the first Nepali woman to successfully scale Nanga Parbat of Pakistan and Mr. Mingma Gyabu Sherpa for summiting Mt. K2 the highest (5 times). 


Mr. PK (Purna Kumar) Sherpa and his teenage son Mr. Sonam Sherpa, who had successfully summited Mt. Everest with the campaign against climate change and three sisters Ms. Nima Jangbu Sherpa, Ms. Dawa Futi Sherpa and Ms. Tshering Sherpa were also honored for summiting the tallest mountain in the world together.


On the occasion helicopter pilots duo Mr. Bibek Khadka and Mr. Ananda Thapa were also facilitated for their contribution for saving the lives with various longline rescues. 


Mr. Puspa Raj Dhakal and Mr. Astha Narayan Tamang were declared as best staff of NMA for the fiscal year of 2078/079 and 2077/078 respectively. NMA also formally bade farewell to its former staff. 


Following agencies were conferred for contributing the most revenue for NMA. 

Fiscal year 2077/2078

1.   South Col Adventure Pvt. Ltd.

2.   Beyul Adventure Pvt. Ltd.

3.   Mera Alpine Treks and Expedition Pvt. Ltd.

4.   Asian Hiking Team Pvt. Ltd.

5.   Seven Summit Treks Pvt. Ltd.

6.   Satori Adventures Pvt. Ltd.

7.   Gravity Himalayan Excursion Pvt. Ltd.

8.   Himalayan Guides Nepal Treks and Expedition Pvt. Ltd.

9.   Boss Adventures Pvt. Ltd.

    10. Expedition Himalaya Pvt. Ltd.

Fiscal year 2078/2079

1. Seven Summit Treks Pvt. Ltd.

2. South Col Adventure Pvt. Ltd.

3. Mera Alpine Treks and Expedition Pvt. Ltd.

4. Makalu Adventures Pvt. Ltd.

5. Asian Hiking Teams Pvt. Ltd.

6. Satori Adventures Pvt. Ltd.

7. Himalayan Guides Nepal Treks and Expedition Pvt. Ltd.

8. Eight K Expeditions Pvt. Ltd.

9. Nepal Climbing Adventure Pvt. Ltd.

10. Snowy Horizon Treks & Expedition


  • Nepal Mountaineering Association NMA NMAAGM 31st & 32nd AGM of NMA