NMA briefs heads of MoCTCA divisions regarding NMA and its endeavors
October 10, 2023

The Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) convened a significant meeting, bringing together top officials from various divisions under the Ministry of Culture, Tourism, and Civil Aviation (MoCTCA). The occasion served as an opportunity for NMA to acquaint MoCTCA officials with its mission and endeavors for the preservation and promotion of mountain tourism.

In an official ceremony, Mr. Nima Nuru Sherpa, the President of NMA, extended a warm welcome to all the guests, including Mr. Buddhi Sagar Lamichhane, the Chief of the Civil Aviation Division of MoCTCA, Mr. Rajendra Kumar KC, Chief of the Tourism Division, Mr. Chakra Bahadur Budha, Director General of the Department of Tourism (DoT), and Mr. Rakesh Gurung, Director of the Mountaineering Section at DoT. 

This is the very first occasion on which the heads of the various divisions under MoCTCA visited the NMA Secretariat for such an event.

Subsequently, the NMA president Mr. Sherpa presented a comprehensive overview of NMA's role in the conservation and promotion of Nepali mountain tourism, with enlightening slideshows. All the guests, in turn, engaged in an insightful exchange, seeking clarification on the presented information and offering valuable suggestions for the continual enhancement of NMA's initiatives.

During the discussions, the NMA team, accompanied by its legal team, put forth some important inputs for the forthcoming Tourism Act, which is aimed at amending the existing legislation originally introduced in 2035 BS.

The Ministry has formed a team, led by Mr. Rajendra Kumar KC, the head of the Tourism Division, tasked with promulgating the new Tourism Act. This step signifies the government's commitment to modernizing and advancing the regulatory framework to govern the Nepali mountain tourism.

Besides President Mr. Sherpa, the important meeting was attended by Mr. Thakur Raj Pandey, Senior Vice President of NMA; Dr. Ganesh Gurung, Advisor; Mr. Dhan Bahadur Gurung, Acting General Secretary; Mr. Diwas Pokhrel, Central Executive Board Member; Senior Advocate Mr. Tulasi Bhatta, Legal Advisor; Advocate Mr. Ghanendra Shrestha; Advocate Mr. Tanka Bhattarai; Mr. Kul Prasad Rai, Chief Executive Officer (CEO); Mr. Jinesh Sindurakar, Chief Administrative Officer (CAO); and Mr. Dipendra Gurung, Communication Officer.


  • Nepal Mountaineering Association NMA